An end of the year letter from Mateo’s teacher.


So Mateo’s 1st grade teacher was out on Maternity leave for over half of the year. It was a difficult transition for Mateo, she is a very wonderful teacher and Mateo cares a lot for her. Another amazing teacher stepped in, but he refused to communicate with her for the first few weeks and we were worried. But sometimes it just takes Mateo a little while to warm up to new people. He has to test you out to make sure you are in it for the long haul.

Here is a letter I received from her last night. This is progress! This is wonderful! This filled my heart with so much happiness:

He has come such a long way and I’ve only seen less than a year of his growth!!! I am going to miss him so much…
He has been full of jokes the past few days. He’s learning that his “comments” get a rise out of the class and yes taking full advantage of it. Today he proved to me just how much he knows the class routines. We did not do a math assignment that we do every day before choice time.
When I started dismissing the kids for choice time Mateo shouts out…wait what we aren’t doing minute math? I said nope not today. He jumped up and shouted YES. I couldn’t help but laugh.
One last thing, If Mateo wants to see me or talk to me at all please know my door is always open. Even over the summer!!!!
-From Mateo’s amazing fill in 1st grade teacher

Here is to a great and relaxing summer for all of our kids! Who’s ready for the pool?

Our favorite summer spot!

Our favorite summer spot!

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Progress, School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

