Is it time to take off the training wheels?


Mateo at Disneyland Fall 2008

So Mateo has some really big changes coming in the next week and a half.  Mateo has had a full time Aide with him since he started Preschool when he was 3. Now at 5 1/2 years old, and his first year at elementary school he doesn’t need the full time assistance anymore.  His language has come a long way.  He loves going to school each day.  He is listening to his teacher and participating in class!

He has come so far.  He is definitely ready to lose his training wheels. But I will be the first to admit- I am not.  I am so used to that buffer, a person that knows him so well, a friend that is at his side.  I am very fortunate to have him at a very caring school, looking out for his best interests. I feel like he is so safe there.  That his teacher, Special Ed Coordinator and the other students all want to make sure he’s taken care of.

Here is the text I received from his Aide today.  I knew they were having a Fire Drill so I sent her a message asking how he’s doing and how the fire drill went.

Here is her reply: “Good!! Fire drill went great! He met his Occupational Therapist today and she stayed the whole 45 minutes to observe! She will be great! :)! He is doing so well I feel useless most of the time. 🙂  I love watching how into school he is.”

Tears began to well in my eyes.  I couldn’t be more proud of him! The amazing boy he has grown into over the past three years.  Next month will be our third year doing the Autism Speaks Walk for Autism.  The first year – he was just diagnosed when we started the walk.  How could three years pass so quickly? And look how far he has come and how hard he has worked.  How many hours of therapy has he had in those three years? I can’t even fathom. But all of his hard work has brought him where he is today.

Mateo doing homework Fall 2011

So I will take off the training wheels, so to speak, but I am going to run right next to him to make sure he doesn’t waver.  To make sure he stays up. I will stay close, not too close , I will always giving him room to grow and spread his wings.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

