What a difference a day (and some good bribery) makes


So after yesterday’s debacle of a morning, I decided to start fresh this morning and really focus making this morning routine a positive one.

Mateo’s bad morning turned into a really bad day at school, and I was hoping to turn it all around today.

Mateo is currently obsessed with presents.  I keep a stash of recycled gift bags in the closet and Mateo likes to pull out his favorites and put toys are books in them and hand them out like presents.

I had a little crocodile wind up toy in my closet from the Dollar Store so I decided to wrap it up in a cute bag as incentive for Mateo to get dressed.  I also wrapped up some shells that Maya has always admired as a gift to her.  I want to be fair, plus if Mateo sees Maya getting a present first, that’s even bigger incentive for him.

And so after breakfast I grabbed the two bags and told the kids  “if you get dressed in less than 4 minutes and are well behaved you can have a present”.

The both happily got dressed in under two minutes, both received their little gifts and had a fabulous morning and drop off.

Every day is a new, a second chance for us to do things right and learn from mistakes we have made.   And let’s be honest some days just suck! But so far so good for today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a difference a day (and some good bribery) makes

  1. Love it – we do something similar…we call them “treasures” (like pirate booty, lol).

  2. Jenelle Reali says:

    Guess I need to start stocking up on toys to bribe Christopher with to get out of bed that first week of kindergarten, because I know I’m going to need them! Thanks Melissa!

  3. Jenelle Reali says:

    P.S. And glad it was a better morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

