Special Needs Mom Warrior Princess?


As soon as I thought I could hang my Battle Axe in the closet for the year or at least the rest of the summer I found out that our request for more hours for ABA therapy for Mateo during the summer has been denied.

Really? We just finished going through all of this with the school district and now the Regional Center has decided to join in! They said they are denying us because our son doesn’t have a “clinical” need for more hours.  We are asking for about 5 more hours a week, just help gear him up for school and work on some important things like buttoning his pants.

Well our Regional Center told us that is a “school” need and they don’t cover school needs. WHAT? Buttoning and Zipping your pants is a “school” need? Cause he needs to be able to do it without assistance when he gets to school? You have got to be kidding me!

We are just asking for his max  for ONE MONTH, and in August he will be cutting back his therapy hours drastically because of full day Kindergarten.

We will be meeting with them on Friday, during Mateo’s assessments.  They are saying he’s doing too well.  I knew that we would get to this point, where they say he’s doing TOO well. Although Mateo still is two years behind in his speech.  He’s very smart. He moves through his lessons quickly.  His progression has been fast and impressive to everyone who sees his chart.

So why does he need continued therapy? He still has a long way to go.  Reuben brought up an amazing question that he is going to ask the Regional Center: What is your goal for our son?

Because I know my hopes for him. My hopes are that he has every possibility in this life, and we give him every tool to get him where he wants to be.  If your goal is to see that he can function, that he can get by, that he can button his pants with help.  Then your perspective and what you expect of these kids is off, way off! And I am not going to back down to give my son everything he needs to succeed.

Maybe we should create a new super hero- Special Needs Mom Warrior Princess? Maybe you all can come up with a better name.

This entry was posted in Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Special Needs Mom Warrior Princess?

  1. I hope Reuben asks that question because I’m very interested in hearing their answer. Also, I’ll make you a cape if you want! 😀 xoxoxoxo

  2. Fay says:

    How frustrating! My bro & sis-in-law will be dealing with this “he’s doing TOO well” soon, I’m sure with my oldest nephew. Sadly, it’s the same with so many things…the descrepiancy gap isn’t “big enough” for them to get many services, but they still aren’t functioning at “grade level” so the student/teacher/school is penalized. Lame. Let me work on that super hero name…’cause Aunties, Teachers, etc want to help too… 🙂

  3. Jenna says:

    Hi
    My name is Jenna and I came across your blog. Mateo is an amazing, inspirational hero. He is so cute! I was born with a rare life threatening disease, and love it when people sign my guestbook. http://www.miraclechamp.webs.com

Leave a Reply

