A new year


I have been doing a lot of reflecting on the past year.  There were many ups and downs, curves and bumps in the road that took us through 2010.  This year had a lot more bumps in the road than years past for me, but I have so much to be thankful in this world and so much of that I talk about in this blog.  I have started this blog just over a year ago and it’s been a great tool for me.  A way for me to reach out, vent and share with friends, family and strangers who may be going through something similar.  It has taught me that I have many people with me on this journey, and the support I have is phenomenal.

Although I call this Mateo’s Story, it is definitely my story and my journey.  And through this past year Mateo has taken me on amazing adventures.  We have gone from only speaking a few words at a time to whole conversations.  We have cried many tears together and shared so many laughs.   We have taken several mini vacations where we learned the importance of comfort items when breaking a routine.  We have sat through an entire movie at the theater and even laughed out loud at the funny parts.  Mateo has danced, sat on Santa’s lap, made countless amounts of pancakes, built sandcastles by the ocean, jumped in leaves, rode a bike, visited aquariums and the train museum, stared at giraffes at the zoo,  played with friends, dressed up, trick or treated as Batman and even put on shows with his sister and all of her friends.

I am looking forward to 2011 and the new adventures that we will take together.  I look forward to seeing another year of progress. He will be starting Kindergarten this year, big changes will be coming and together we will take on the challenges.   I feel hopeful that everything will work out in school and that he will continue to progress like he has been.  That he will continue to be the happy, social and fun-loving kid that he is now.  That the new year will bring him more words, friends and conversations with friends.

I am hopeful that this year will be prosperous for our business and that the stresses of life will less, but whatever this year brings I know that 2010 has made me stronger.  I hope that this year will bring all of you much happiness too!

 

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Family, Friends, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new year

  1. lara kiniris says:

    Love this post! Have a wonderful new year!

  2. ibierce says:

    I wish you guys an amazing 2011, Mateo is an incredible little guy and it’s really cool you’re doing this blog. You know, you should compile it into a book at some point

Leave a Reply

