First day of Preschool


So today is Mateo’s official first day of Preschool.  His tutors geared him up today. Reading him a story about how to sit in circle time and to listen to his teacher, Miss Anita.  So when it was time to leave, I told him we are going to Preschool.  He jumped up and ran to the door in excitement! Going to school last year was always the highlight of his day.  I am hoping that continues through this year.

As we drove he fell asleep in the car because he woke up early this morning.  But as soon as I told him “Teo we are at school!” he woke up with a smile on his face.  I was wondering if he would expect me to stay.  I stay once a week to work in the classroom, and this year he is going from 3 days to 5 days a week. So the majority of the time will be without me there, but his tutors will stay with him.  So we walked in, and he kind of walked around until Miss Anita asked him to pick a book and sit down.  And that’s exactly what he did.  He is always drawn to the pretend kitchen area, but he followed perfect directions and sat down.

So I decided to leave.  It’s important with Mateo that I don’t set a pattern unless I plan on following through with it every time.  So that means that if I plan to sit with him through circle time, I will have to do that every day.  So I thought it’s the first day and the best idea is for me to start him off independently, although I would love to be there to see how he does.

The goal is to get him ready for Kindergarten next year. To get him ready for a mainstream school.  To get him communicating more.  To stop the verbal outbursts when the teacher is talking.  There are a lot of goals for him, but Mateo is always up for the challenges.

Happy first day of your last year of Preschool Teo!

This entry was posted in School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

