Dad’s birthday!


On Sunday we went to my brother’s house to celebrate my nephew and my dad’s birthday.

The most amazing thing happened.

We were sitting around watching my dad open a couple presents and Mateo walks right up to my dad and says “Happy Birthday, Pop”.

We look at each other in amazement.  No one prompted him at all. He just said it from his heart, “Happy Birthday Pop!”.

It was the best birthday present he could of asked for.

Today is my dad’s birthday and I want to wish him a Happy Birthday! I know Teo gave him a present to last a life time.

I don’t think most people can understand- most children just start talking.  Mateo repeats most things, will answer when you force him to some of the time.  He runs around repeating shows and songs, this is called Echolalia, and the majority of his chatter.  Speech doesn’t come naturally to him, so for us it’s amazing and wonderful when it happens.

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dad’s birthday!

  1. ibierce says:

    That’s a really good story

  2. melissa says:

    Wow that is so wonderful, what a gift!!

  3. Pop says:

    WOW!!
    This was the gift that keeps on giving! Made my Millennium! To have Mateo come up to me, with those beautiful brown eyes, and that smiling face with that sweet voice, I will definately dine out on this moment for my next 61 years, or more. Mateo makes all of us whole, and we all have a special place in our hearts for him. To watch him progress, and especially express himself, is most heart-warming. We are so proud of Mateo, and love him and Maya and Melissa and Reuben, and our time with them is full and precious.
    Pop and Nini

Leave a Reply

