My biggest challenge, so far…


I actually drafted this story on the 11th. At this point we had hardly any successes….

I never thought Potty Training would be the toughest challenge we would face, but so far it has been.  It’s not that he is reluctant to try, defiant or even his usual stubborn self.  I think it’s that he has been doing it one way (in a diaper) for over 3 1/2 years and now we are asking him to do it a new way, and he hasn’t quite figured out how yet why or how.  I can tell he misses the pull-ups he doesn’t want to be wet or messy.

So we are told no more pull-ups or diapers is the way to go.  Reuben and I spend countless times a day cleaning up messes, lots of messes, lots of frustration and lots of laundry! I decided this past weekend to dedicate the entire weekend to potty training. We didn’t leave the house, we spent a lot of time in the bathroom, singing songs, playing games and trying to keep it fun. We have been doing this for weeks, even throwing him a party potty- dedicating the day with the tutors to trying to get some success.

After so many weeks of trying we finally got one full success yesterday- I was so so excited and so was he.  But the failures after are deflating.  I try to keep positive, try to keep motivated, and not upset about all of the cleaning up.  I am hopeful it will click like so many other things do with him.  I am waiting for that moment when it all comes together.

——–

Flash forward 8 days…

And in the next couple of days it did click! He’s doing so well  – even initiating and going by himself. Then he gets out the stool and tries to help himself to a jelly bean to reward himself.  Reuben had figured out that he was being rewarded for sitting on the potty- so he would just hold it, and then have an accident.  There are still accidents here and there, but he has come so far in such a short time. I am so proud of him.

I would say to the other parents out there- you want to give up, and go back to diapers cause you think they aren’t ready- but maybe you just haven’t found the trigger. Keep trying new things and you will be amazed at what they can do! Mateo amazes me every day!

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My biggest challenge, so far…

  1. Sami says:

    Melissa, thank you for the smile. Way to go Mateo! =)
    What a sweet inspirational story

Leave a Reply

